Save NH’s Education Tax Credit Program!

Right now, New Hampshire’s  Education Tax Credit scholarship program does a lot of good for the children of our state. But the program is facing multiple legislative attacks this year, the first of which is House Bill 632.

BILL: HB 632 Repealing of the Education Tax Credit Scholarship Program
WHEN:  Public Hearing Tuesday, February 5th, starting at 11:00am
WHERE: Legislative Office Building, room 202, located at 33 N State Street, Concord (may be moved to a larger room)
CORNERSTONE POSITION: OPPOSE

The Education Tax Credit (ETC) scholarship program is the only one in the state that supports low-income students’ access an education that fits their individual needs. It allows private donations – not state funds – to be given to a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to at-risk children. Scholarships may be used for tuition at out-of-district public schools, private school tuition, or home education expenses.

This school year, 413 children are utilizing the ETC scholarship for their education. If the program is repealed, they will likely be unable to continue in the learning environment that fits their needs. Learn more about the benefits of this program on the  School Choice for NH website.

TAKE ACTION

Please come and testify, or just provide moral support by filling the room. The public is welcome to provide written or oral testimony, or may sign the “blue sheet” to indicate your position on the bill.

Children are welcome and encouraged to attend! This is a perfect civics field trip – to see the legislature in action on an issue so near to our hearts!

The Legislative Office Building (LOB) is immediately behind the Statehouse, located at 33 N State St, Concord, NH 03301. There is on-street parking, and a parking garage nearby. Here are driving directions.

If you are unable to attend, please contact the committee before the hearing.

CALL: Phone calls can be especially effective, particularly if you share what educational opportunities mean to you and your family. Mention if you are a constituent. Here is the committee members’ contact information. 

EMAIL: You can email members of the Ways and Means committee and ask them to vote NO on HB 632. You can copy and paste their addresses from the list below. Your brief message could make a difference.

COMMITTEE EMAILS
susan.almy@comcast.net
Richard.Ames@leg.state.nh.us
dennis.malloy@leg.state.nh.us
David.Karrick@leg.state.nh.us
Thomas.Southworth@leg.state.nh.us
Tom.Schamberg@leg.state.nh.us
edith.tucker@leg.state.nh.us
Lisa.Bunker@leg.state.nh.us
Jennie.Gomarlo@leg.state.nh.us
Willis.Griffith@leg.state.nh.us
Tom.Loughman@leg.state.nh.us
Jerry.Stringham@leg.state.nh.us
norman.major@leg.state.nh.us
repulery@comcast.net
patrick.abrami@leg.state.nh.us
Charles.Burns@leg.state.nh.us
Fred.Doucette@leg.state.nh.us
jess.edwards@leg.state.nh.us
Alan.Bershtein@leg.state.nh.us
susan.almy@comcast.net
Richard.Ames@leg.state.nh.us