House Hearings on Changing Gender on Birth Certificates & Disallowing School Prayer

Second in Cornerstone’s 2019 series of State House updates! To see the first one click here

Cornerstone is keeping you updated on public hearings on proposed legislation regarding issues that matter to you!

Remember, at any of these hearings you may speak on a bill, or you may attend simply to sign a sheet indicating whether you support or oppose the bill. You can also send testimony in writing or via email.

The Bills

 

 HB 446 “Gender change on Birth Certificate” : Cornerstone opposes this bill.

HB 466 would provide a procedure for an individual to obtain a new birth certificate based on a change of gender identity, and will have a public hearing in the House Health, Human Services and Elderly Affairs Committee Thursday, January 17 2:00 p.m. in room 205 of the LOB.

HB 446 would allow falsification of birth certificates on the basis of “gender reassignment.” Note that state law already allows a person to get a driver’s license noting a change in gender. HB 446, however, is an attempt to revise history, using official public records to misstate what an individual’s biologically-determined sex was known to be at birth.

If an individual requests a birth certificate reflecting a gender identity other than that which was assigned a birth, a new birth record shall be prepared to reflect a change in the individual’s gender identity upon receipt of a certification affirming the individual’s gender identity by a licensed and qualified health care provider….[The certification] shall provide that the named individual is currently or was previously under the signing health care provider’s care, and that in the health care provider’s professional opinion the individual’s gender identity is (1) male, (2) female, or (3) nonbinary, and can be reasonably expected to continue as such for the foreseeable future.”

HB 289” No more Prayers in Our Schools”:  Cornerstone opposes this bill.

Right now, New Hampshire law permits – but does not require – local school districts to authorize the voluntary recitation of the Lord’s Prayer in elementary schools. HB 289 would repeal the provision permitting school districts to authorize the recitation of the Lord’s prayer in public elementary schools, and will have a public hearing in the House Education Committee on Thursday, January 17 (same day, hearing will overlap) at 2:30 p.m. in room 207 of the Legislative Office Building in Concord (behind the State House).

HB 289 seeks to wipe out a law that simply permits prayer. It would repeal this short statute from 2002:

“As an affirmation of the freedom of religion in this country, a school district may authorize the recitation of the traditional Lord’s prayer in public elementary schools. Pupil participation in the recitation of the prayer shall be voluntary. Pupils shall be reminded that this Lord’s prayer is the prayer our pilgrim fathers recited when they came to this country in their search for freedom. Pupils shall be informed that these exercises are not meant to influence an individual’s personal religious beliefs in any manner. The exercises shall be conducted so that pupils shall learn of our great freedoms, which freedoms include the freedom of religion and are symbolized by the recitation of the Lord’s prayer.”

What You Can Do


Both hearings are open to the public. At a hearing, you may sign up to testify, or you may simply sign in on a sheet that indicates your position on the bill.

You may also contact the committees by phone or email. As always, brief and courteous messages are best. Even a simple “please vote no” will count.

Contact the House Health, Human Services and Elderly Affairs Committee and urge NO on HB 446.
Committee office phone number is (603) 271-3589.
Email addresses for committee members:
Rep. Lucy Weber, Chair:  lwmcv@comcast.net
Rep. Polly Campion, Vice-Chair: Polly.Campion@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. James MacKay (co-sponsor, HB 446)james.mackay@mygait.com
Rep. Susan Ticehurst: Susan.Ticehurst@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Kendall Snow: Ken.Snow@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Mary Freitas: Mary.Freitas@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Jerry Knirk: Jerry.Knirk@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Jeffrey Salloway: jc.salloway@unh.edu
Rep. Gerri Cannon (chief sponsor of HB 446): Gerri.Cannon@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Frances Nutter-Upham: Fran.NutterUpham@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Richard Osborne: Richard.Osborne@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Joe Schapiro: Joe.Schapiro@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Gary Woods: Gary.Woods@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Charles McMahon: cmcmahon55@gmail.com
Rep. Bill Nelson: bill.nelson@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Joe Guthrie: lojogut@gmail.com
Rep. John Fothergill:  john.Fothergill@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. William Marsh: William.Marsh@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Mark Pearson: electmarkpearson@gmail.com
Rep. Dennis Acton: Dennis.Acton@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Edward DeClercq: Ed.Declercq@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Walter Stapleton: Walt.Stapleton@leg.state.nh.us

Contact the House Education Committee and urge NO on HB 289. Committee office phone number is (603) 271-3334.
Email addresses for committee members:
Rep. Mel Myler, Chair: mel.myler@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. David Luneau, Vice-Chair: dluneaunh@gmail.com
Rep. Barbara Shaw: beshaw3@comcast.net
Rep. Linda Tanner: linda.tanner@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Patricia Cornell: patricia.cornell@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. David Doherty: david.doherty@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Tamara Le: tamara.le@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Arthur Ellison: art.ellison@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Sue Mullen: sue.mullen@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Cole Riel: cole.riel@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Mark Vallone: mark.vallone@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Stephen Woodcock: steve.woodcock@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Rick Ladd: ladd.nhhouse@charter.net
Rep. Glenn Cordelli: glenn.cordelli@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Joseph Pitre: house@joepitre.com
Rep. Robert Elliott: bob.elliott@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Ralph Boehm: rgboehm@comcast.net
Rep. Dan Wolf: Dan.Wolf@leg.state.nh.us
Rep. Robert Forsythe: docrlf@yahoo.com
Rep. Alicia Lekas: rep.alicia.lekas@gmail.com
Subscribe to receive Cornerstone Action’s State House updates via email.